Beautiful, Thoughtful

18 08 2011

Bought an album a while back and whilst making my way through the alphabetic list on my shelf I came across it again, still in all of it’s sealed plastic glory.

I have a thing for live performances as I feel it really gives you an essence of what an artist is really about, you can here any flaws, or in the case of this album, the lack of them.

I like to listen to that raw sound that only a live performance can give you. Sadly, for financial reasons, myself and my wife, once avid gig-goers, rarely get chance to go and sample this delight in it’s true form. However, an excellent live recording more than makes up for it, in my opinion.

Anyway the album I am talking about in this instance is Jonsi – Go Live. I have seen Sigur Ros once in my life and I have to say it was one of the most beautiful and thoughtful live shows I had ever been to, especially finishing the set with Untitled 8, one of my all time faves!

This live recording of Jonsi is also of the same ilk, he seems to manage to make it a very personal journey into his own world. The recording itself in terms of production is excellent and his performance lacks any flaws at all. The voice is at times chilling and takes of off into some distant realm where you either want to be or not!

I think the standout track for me on this recording is Tornado, a sweeping sound scape that just sets you off in a relaxed state with a great building of atmosphere and awe. I wish I could play music like this!Jonsi

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

