Books I’ve Been Meaning to Read but Haven’t Quite Got Round to it Yet!

28 12 2012

It has to be said that 2012 has really seen me re-kindle my love of reading, I went through a period of time where I really struggled to get through a book. 2012 – for whatever reason – seemed to change that, as of writing I have read 20 books this year (not including the numerous kid’s books – Beast Quest anyone? – that I read to my son).

I have started reading far more than watching TV and I no longer subscribe to Sports TV channels – a huge drain on my time in past years.

So with all of this in mind I have drawn up a list of books that I want to get through in 2013 – I am calling it the year of the book! Some are relatively recent and others are more critically acclaimed pieces that I just have never got through, listed in no particular order:

Gatsby_1925_jacketThe Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

2666 – Roberto Bolano (just purchased it this week!)

The Road – Cormac McCarthy

Schindler’s Ark – Thomas Keneally

Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell

The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks

The Crow Road – Iain Banks

Humboldt’s Gift – Saul Bellow

A Short History of Nearly Everything – Bill Bryson

Intermingled with these will be a mixture of more populist fiction that I read as a bit of an escape, these will include The Columbus Affair by Steve Berry and Plantation by Chris Kuzneski.

I am sure over the course of the year I will add the the above texts but at least it’s a start! I am aiming to get to 24 books in 2013 after falling 4 short this year.

It would be great to hear your thoughts on this post or the books you want to read in 2013 in the comments.

Actions

Information

One response

28 12 2012
collecty

Reblogged this on Collecty.net.

Leave a Reply

